Telugu is a Unicode block containing characters for the Telugu, Gondi, and Lambadi languages of Andhra Pradesh, India. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0C01..U+0C4D were a direct copy of the Telugu characters A1-ED from the 1988 ISCII standard. The Devanagari0900–097F , Bengalisch0980–09FF , Gujarati0A80–0AFF , Gurmukhi0A00–0A7F , Oriya0B00–0B7F , Tamilisch0B80–0BFF , Kannada0C80–0CFF and Malayalam0D00–0D7F blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

Telugu script, an abugida from the Brahmic family of scripts, is used to write the Telugu language, a language found in the South Indian states of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana as well as several other neighbouring states. It gained prominence during the Vengi Chalukyan era. It shares high similarity with its sibling Kannada script.


Bereich 0C00–0C7F
Zeichen 128