Devanagari is a Unicode block containing characters for writing Hindi, Marathi, Sindhi, Nepali and Sanskrit. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0900..U+0954 were a direct copy of the characters A0-F4 from the 1988 ISCII standard. The बंगाली0980–09FF , गुरुमुखी0A00–0A7F , गुजराती0A80–0AFF , ओरिया0B00–0B7F , तामिल0B80–0BFF , तेलुगु0C00–0C7F , कन्नड़0C80–0CFF , and मलयालम0D00–0D7F blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

Devanagari, also called Nagari, is an abugida alphabet of India and Nepal. It is written from left to right, does not have distinct letter cases, and is recognisable (along with most other North Indic scripts, with a few exceptions like गुजराती0A80–0AFF and ओरिया0B00–0B7F ) by a horizontal line that runs along the top of full letters. Since the 19th century, it has been the most commonly used script for writing Sanskrit. Devanagari is used to write Hindi, Nepali, Marathi, Konkani, Bodo and Maithili among other languages and dialects. It was formerly used to write Gujarati. Because it is the standardised script for the Hindi, Nepali, Marathi, Konkani and Bodo languages, Devanagari is one of the most used and adopted writing systems in the world.


रेंज 0900–097F
वर्णमाला 128

वर्णों की सूची

वर्ण सूची

कॉपी किया गया!