Unified Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics Alphabet


The Canadian Syllabics script is used to write the languages of Canada's Indigenous peoples, such as Cree, Inuktitut, and Ojibwa. This script was created by missionary James Evans in 1833 and continues to be in use today. It is also the official script in the province of Nunavut.

In terms of its type, Canadian Syllabics is an abugida. Each character represents a syllable and is modified depending on which vowel is in that syllable. What's notable about the Canadian Syllabics script is that the modification of characters involves rotating them. For example, “me” is represented by , “mi” by , “mo” by , and “ma” by . Diacritical marks are also used, including those for long vowels.

The complete set of characters is contained in the Unified Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics1400–167F and Unified Canadian Aboriginal Syllabics Extended18B0–18FF .