Gujarati is a Unicode block containing characters for writing the Gujarati language. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0A81..U+0AD0 were a direct copy of the Gujarati characters A1-F0 from the 1988 ISCII standard. The Devanagari0900–097F , Bengali0980–09FF , Gurmukhi0A00–0A7F , Oriya0B00–0B7F , Tamil0B80–0BFF , Telugu0C00–0C7F , Kannada0C80–0CFF , and Malayalam0D00–0D7F blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

The Gujarati script, which like all Nāgarī writing systems is strictly speaking an abugida rather than an alphabet, is used to write the Gujarati and Kutchi languages. It is a variant of Devanāgarī script differentiated by the loss of the characteristic horizontal line running above the letters and by a small number of modifications in the remaining characters. With a few additional characters, added for this purpose, the Gujarati script is also often used to write Sanskrit and Hindi. Gujarati numerical digits are also different from their Devanagari counterparts.


Range 0A80–0AFF
Characters 128

List of Characters

Representation in Unicode