Kannada is a Unicode block containing characters for the Kannada and Tulu languages. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0C82..U+0CCD were a direct copy of the Kannada characters A2-ED from the 1988 ISCII standard. The Devanagari0900–097F , Bengali0980–09FF , Gujarati0A80–0AFF , Gurmukhi0A00–0A7F , Oriya0B00–0B7F , Tamil0B80–0BFF , Telugu0C00–0C7F , and Malayalam0D00–0D7F blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

The Kannada alphabet is an abugida of the Brahmic family, used primarily to write the Kannada language, one of the Dravidian languages of southern India. Several minor languages, such as Tulu, Konkani, Kodava, and Beary, also use alphabets based on the Kannada script. The Kannada and Telugu0C00–0C7F scripts share high mutual intellegibility with each other, and are often considered to be regional variants of single script. Similarly, Goykanadi, a variant of Old Kannada, has been historically used to write Konkani in the state of Goa.


Range 0C80–0CFF
Characters 128

List of Characters

Table of Characters