Oriya is a Unicode block containing characters for the Oriya, Khondi, and Santali languages of Orissa state, India. In its original incarnation, the code points U+0B01..U+0B4D were a direct copy of the Oriya characters A1-ED from the 1988 ISCII standard. The Devanagari0900–097F , Bengali0980–09FF , Gujarati0A80–0AFF , Gurmukhi0A00–0A7F , Tamil0B80–0BFF , Telugu0C00–0C7F , Kannada0C80–0CFF and Malayalam0D00–0D7F blocks were similarly all based on their ISCII encodings.

Oriya (oṛiā), officially spelled Odia, is an Indian language belonging to the Indo-Aryan branch of the Indo-European language family. It is the predominant language of the Indian state of Odisha, where native speakers comprise 80% of the population, and it is spoken in parts of West Bengal, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Andhra Pradesh. Oriya is one of the many official languages in India; it is the official language of Odisha and the second official language of Jharkhand. Oriya is the sixth Indian language to be designated a Classical Language in India, on the basis of having a long literary history and not having borrowed extensively from other languages.


Range 0B00–0B7F
Characters 128

List of Characters

Table of Characters